Supta Baddha Konasana – the love of my life

reclining bound angle pose

The yoga sages’ gift to the world is supta baddha konasana (reclining bound angle pose). I could lie in this pose all afternoon. The only thing I look forward to when I get my period is the excuse to do this pose for 10 minutes a day for the duration of my cycle. I mean let’s face it, if it wasn’t for that pose (and maybe dwi pada viparita dandasana over a chair with my head on a bolster) I would never get the motivation to do the menstrual sequence.  There’s just something so yummy about lying back in this pose, over a cozy bolster, arms out to the side, chest expanding, knees extending and the groins releasing, the belly softening and relaxing back.  It is always a surprise to me, although it happens every time, when I lie back in the pose and think ‘Ahhh, I’m so relaxed, this is really comfortable, I’m totally letting go’ and then about 2 or 3 minutes later I feel my groins release and my knees slide apart another 1/2 inch or so. What the heck? I thought I had let go, released my tension, opened up. But those ol’ tight groins fooled me again. Little did I know I had been gripping and holding that entire time. Then slowly, layer by layer, you feel things shift and soften and truly release down into the bolster/floor/what have you. The bliss comes. And it takes so much effort to pull myself up out of that pose and move on to the next posture. Luckily its two friends are along for the ride – supta virasana and setu bandha sarvangasana (over bolsters). So I can milk another 15 minutes out of this blissful practice!! Another reason to love this thing called yoga.

About beckyoga

Interested in yoga, design, dance, music, and dogs.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Supta Baddha Konasana – the love of my life

  1. Narasu says:

    Yes, this is my favorite pose too. Just got off a plane and am going right into it!

  2. Pingback: practicing the menstrual sequence | Being Present

  3. Not only is this a great pose – it’s a really fun word to say too! I’ve always enjoyed this pose, but now after reading about your experience, I’m going to hold it even longer!

Leave a Reply

