Energizing Sequence – for when you need a lift

Yoga postures Urdva_Dhanurasana

Image via Wikipedia

I woke up this morning feeling a little under the weather. Not the kind of ‘under the weather’ that comes with a cold or a flu, but more the emotional kind. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I just don’t feel myself today. Kinda down-in-the-dumps, I guess.  I was about to do my home practice, which I had originally thought would be a sequence from Light On Yoga. But after contemplating this cloud that is hanging overhead, I thought I might dip into my books and find an energizing sequence that might lift me out of this mood. I don’t generally suffer from depression, but I think from time to time everyone has days like today, where you just can’t quite get the energy you need to get on with your day. Whatever it is that’s bothering me, I hope this sequence will lift me out of this funk so I can see the sunnier side of the day! I’ve posted the sequence below in case anyone is in need of a lift:

  1. Tadasana – mountain pose
  2. Urdhva Hastasana in Tadasana – arms overhead in mountain pose
  3. Utthita Trikonasana – extended triangle pose
  4. Virabhadrasana II – warrior II pose
  5. Utthita Parsvakonasana – extended side-angle pose
  6. Virabhadrasana I – warrior I pose
  7. Parsvottanasana – intense side stretch pose
  8. Virasana with Gomukhasana arms – hero pose with cow-face arms
  9. Adho Mukha Svanasana – downward facing dog pose
  10. Sirsasana – headstand
  11. Adho Mukha Virasana – child’s pose
  12. Adho Mukha Svanasana – downward facing dog pose
  13. Viparita Dandasana – inverted staff pose
  14. Ustrasana – camel pose
  15. Urdhva Mukha Svanasana – upward facing dog pose
  16. Urdhva Dhanurasana – upward facing bow pose
  17. Adho Mukha Svanasana – downward facing dog pose
  18. Uttanasana – standing forward bend
  19. Parsva Uttanasana – standing forward bend with a twist
  20. Sarvangasana – shoulderstand
  21. Halasana – plough pose
  22. Setu Bandha Sarvangasana – bridge pose
  23. Viparita Karani – legs up the wall pose
  24. Savasana – corpse pose

This sequence came from The Women’s Book of Yoga and Health by Patricia Walden and Linda Sparrowe. If you try the sequence I’d love to hear how you felt afterwards. I’m going to go give it a try right now!

About beckyoga

Interested in yoga, design, dance, music, and dogs.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Energizing Sequence – for when you need a lift

  1. beckyoga says:

    Update:
    I did the sequence and felt great afterwards. I added handstand and pinchamayurasana (feathered peacock pose) before Sirsasana (headstand) to get some extra shoulder work in (and inversions tend to improve one’s mood). The backbends and chest openers really lifted my spirits! Give it a try.

    • love that book and love that I have found your blog. I am in Italy near lake como and considering doing my YTT after years of on and off practise…..write more, write more!! xxxx

      • beckyoga says:

        thank you so much for your comments!! I really appreciate it. Have you tried this sequence, by the way? It really did make me feel pretty great afterwards. I’d love to check out your blog too sometime. Are there any great teacher training courses in Lake Como? I think you should go for it, it really transforms your practice and your life. Hope you can stop by again!
        Becky

  2. Pleasure to chat. I have been doing the anxiety depression sequence from that book a lot recently actually… )-: Come over to my blog (which i only made public yesterday and so far no comments….boo hoo) and you’ll see that life is a bit challenging for me at the moment and I think yoga might be the way to counterbalance the extra stress and take my mind off it all. I have no teacher right now though I have found someone about an hour a way and I really really hope that she will be a good fit – next september both my boys should be in preschool so then I could potentially start YTT. PS we share the same favourite position! Go supta badakanasana!!!

  3. Pingback: Finally did the Bakasana! « The Fit, The Fat & The Fugly

  4. Pingback: Yoga Dogs « The Fit, The Fat & The Fugly

  5. Pingback: Yoga on Tuesday « The Fit, The Fat & The Fugly

  6. Pingback: The Responsibility of Being Great | Amber Dehn

Leave a Reply

